

# INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL MANONMANIAM SUNDARANAR UNIVERSITY, TIRUNELVELI – 627012



## Minutes of the 1st Meeting of the Internal Quality Assurance Cell

# 9<sup>th</sup> October 2020

The 1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the IQAC was held at 1230 Hours on 9<sup>th</sup> October 2020. The following members were present at the meeting:

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- Prof. Dr. K. Pitchumani, Vice-Chancellor (in the Chair)
- 1. Dr. K. Senthamaraikannan, Registrar i/c
- 2. Dr. P. Madhava Soma Sundaram, Director, Centre for Planning & Development
- 3. Dr. C. Kannan, Professor & Head/Chemistry
- 4. Dr. B. William Dharma Raja, Professor and Head/ Education
- 5. Dr. B. Sundarakannan, Professor & Head, Dept. of Physics
- 6. Dr. V. Balamurugan, Director, IQAC
- 7. Dr. R. Kala, Professor & Head, Dept. of Mathematics
- 8. Mr. M. Chidambaram, Deputy Registrar
- 9. Dr. N. Rajalingam, Director, DDCE
- 10. Dr. A. Palavesam, Professor, Dept. of Animal Science, MSU
- 11. Dr. A. Thirumagal, Librarian, MSU

Prof. **Dr. K. Pitchumani, Chairman, IQAC** welcomed the members and asked the Director, IQAC to present the agenda items for discussion. The **Director**, IQAC briefed about the following agenda of the meeting:

- 1. Constituting a criteria wise committee for AQAR
- 2. Incorporating additional criteria in Academic Audit Report
- 3. Incorporating details relevant to section in Administrative Audit
- 4. Constituting a committee for compiling SOP for the University
- 5. Conduct of Stock Audit at University
- 6. Constitution of Ethical Committee

### **Discussions and Decisions Taken:**

**Item 1:** Director, IQAC informed the house that the details required for the preparation of AQAR has been allotted to the concerned sections/ IQAC Liaison Officer in the meeting held at 1100 Hrs on 9<sup>th</sup> October 2020 with Deputy Registrars/ Assistant Registrars and IQAC Liaison Officers. Dr. A. Palavesam member suggested that a separate committee for each criteria shall be constituted to make the data collection easy.

### **Decision:**

It is decided to constitute the following committees:

AQAR Criteria Number	Committee Members
1. Curricular Aspects	Dr. N. Rajalingam
	Mrs. A.P. Jeyalatha
	Dr. V. Sundar Raman
	Dr. R. Sivakumar
	Dr. V. Shankar Raj
	Dr. B. Balakumar
2. Teaching Learning Evaluation	Dr. B. Sundara Kannan
	Mr. S. Raja Chandra Sekar
	Dr. K. Swarna Latha

	Mrs. K. Dhanalakshmi
	Dr. V. Sabarinathan
3. Research, Innovation and	Dr. B. William Dharma Raja
Extension	Mrs. S. Kaladevi
	Dr. K. Mohan Raj
	Dr. P. Vedamuthan
	Dr. K. Rajamannar
4. Infrastructure and Learning	Dr. C. Kannan
Resources	Mr. Pon Immanuel
	Dr. R. Sasi Kumar
	Dr. G. Monikanda Prasad
	Dr. H. Deepa
5. Student Support and	Dr. A. Thirumagal
Progression	Dr. A. Veliappan
	Dr. K. Kannan, Library
	Dr. J. Jothi Murugan
6. Governance, Leadership and	Dr. V. Balamurugan
Managment	Mr. M. Chidhambaram
	Dr. K. Manoj
	Dr. V. Denesh Kumar
	Dr. E. Enanalap Periyar
7. Institutional Value and Best	Dr. S. Kalidas
Practices	Dr. S.R. Sundaravalli
	Dr. P. Arockia Jansi Rani
	Dr. S. Venkatesh

Item 2: The Director, IQAC elucidated the lacunae such as maintenance of mentoring record, allotting hours for mentoring in the time table, etc. to the house. Dr. B. William Dharma Raja, Member, IQAC insisted on the concrete action to fill the gaps. Dr. A. Palavesam, Member, IQAC suggested implementing an Academic Action Report (AAR) to record the academic activities that are carried out by the faculty members.

**Decision:** It is decided to incorporate the above changes in the Academic Audit Proforma.

**Item 3.** The Director, IQAC stated that the Academic and Administrative Audit formats are continuously evolved to accommodate the necessary details. Based on the suggestion given by Dr. A. Loganathan and other auditors of previous years, the necessary details are to be incorporated in the administrative audit proforma.

**Decision:** It is decided to incorporate the relevant details of section in the Administrative Audit Proforma.

**Item 4:** The Director, IQAC suggested that by implementing Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) the functionality of the University will get improved. Dr. N. Rajalingam and Dr. A. Palavesam, Members, IQAC revealed that SOP has been prepared long back and it was submitted to the then Vice Chancellor Dr. Kumara Guru.

**Decision:** It is decided to constitute the "SOP Implementation Committee" with the following Members:

- 1. Dr. A. Palavesam, Dean, CDC
- 2. Dr. N. Rajalingam, Director, DDCE
- 3. Dr. P. Arockia Jansi Rani, Director, Online Courses
- 4. Dr. V. Sundar Raman, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Commn.
- 5. Dr. G. Magesh Kuttalam, Assistant Professor, DOMS
- 8. Mrs.P. Justice Saroja, Assistant Registrar

### 7. Mrs. S. Kaladevi, Assistant Registrar

Further it is decided to get a status report after a month.

Item 4: Director, IQAC quoted the page 72, Chapter II, Powers and Functions of Finance Officer, Para (h) which states the following:

"Finance officer shall arrange for the annual stock verification. For this purposes he shall submit to the Vice-Chancellor in November of every year, proposals for the appointment of stock verifiers, for various departments, sections, etc,. He shall ensure that the stock verifications as on 31st March is conducted regularly before the end of the June of every year. The report of stock verification shall be placed before the Vice Chancellor."

Director, IQAC brought to the knowledge of Vice Chancellor that the stock verification has not been carried out for the academic year 2019-290. In this regard Dr. N. Rajalingam, Member, IQAC opined that the format of the stock maintenance register which was supplied by the Finance Section is not easy to use and it needs to be simplified.

Decision:

It is decided to ask the Finance Officer to carry out the stock verification within a month.

Item 6: The Director, IQAC stated that the details of the ethical committees is not available with the IQAC and sought the clarification. Dr. A. Palavesam, Member, IQAC reported that the ethical committee for animal research has been constituted and the approval for the same has been sought from the government. Dr. C. Kannan, Member, IQAC reported that the constitution of chemical ethical committee is in progress.

Decision:

It is decided to constitute the Chemical, Bio ethical committee with following members and to report the outcome within a month:

Chemical Ethical Committee:

- 1. Dr. C. Kannan, Department of Chemistry
- 2. Dr. K. Swarnalatha, Department of Chemistry
- 3. Dr. K. Muthu, Department of Chemistry
- 4. Dr. S. Nagarajan, Department of Chemistry
- 5. Dr. K. Nagashri, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry Biological Ethical Committee:
- 1. Dr. K. Murugan, Department of Bio Technology
- 2. Dr. S. Kalidas, Department of Animal Science
- 3. Dr. A. Selvam, Department of Plant Science
- 4. Dr. M. Udhaya Kumar, Department of Plant Science

5. Dr. S. Venkatesh, Department of Bio - Technology